

April 17, 2024

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker of the House United States House of Representatives Washington D.C. 20515

Dear Speaker Johnson,

In the nearly three years since the establishment of the Affordable Connectivity Program (ACP) in the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, millions of American households have received aid from the ACP to access affordable broadband and participate in the 21st century economy. Without the monthly benefit the ACP provides, many Americans will lose access to distance learning, telemedicine, the online marketplace, and the numerous benefits that high-speed internet provides in everyday life.

We are disappointed that despite the incredible impact on the 23 million households¹ that have enrolled across the country, House Republican Leadership has blocked any consideration of the funding it needs to keep running, pushing us towards the program's extinction. At a time of rising costs, Republican Leadership refuses to support this critical program that saves communities money. If Congress does not provide additional funding, April is the last month the full ACP benefit will be provided, and, in May, households will see changes in their bill. More than three-quarters of ACP-enrolled households could either experience a disruption or lose access to the internet entirely.² We cannot let this happen.

As New Dems, we are committed to fighting to lower everyday costs for Americans; letting the ACP lapse will lead to a direct increase in broadband costs for consumers. We reaffirm our call to House Republicans to deliver for the American people and provide the ACP with the funding it needs without delay. In January 2024, the bipartisan, bicameral Affordable Connectivity Program Extension Act was introduced, and, if adopted, would provide an additional \$7 billion for the ACP. This Act has broad support, including over 224 co-sponsors. We stand ready and willing to partner with you and the Republican Conference to keep Americans connected to the internet.

Sincerely,

^{1 &}quot;<u>Fact Sheet: As Affordable Connectivity Program Hits Milestone of Providing Affordable High-Speed Internet to</u> 23 Million Households Nationwide, Biden-Harris Administration Calls on Congress to Extend Its Funding." *The White House*, 6 Feb. 2024

^{2&}quot;The Impact and Importance of the Affordable Connectivity Program." BSG.

main Gaig

Angie Craig Member of Congress

Po-

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Andrea Selines

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Patrick Ryan Member of Congress

10 CLL

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

You

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Irola

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

hatell m

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Henry Cuellar Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

Josh Harder

Josh Harder Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

In Sevel

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

MOUIN CASTRO

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Troy A. Carter, Sr. Member of Congress

David J. Trone Member of Congress

Frank J. Mrvan Member of Congress

Lenn

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Rick Zanen

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Colin Z. Allred Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Wiley Nickel Member of Congress

lla

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

nettony.

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Jaceph D. marelle

Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

an Mi Fane

Ann McLane Kuster Chair New Democrat Coalition

Susan Wild Member of Congress

Sounder Sol

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

)tantor

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Dean Phillips Member of Congress

Sended C. Jannon

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Faster Bil

Bill Foster Member of Congress

latterhouseder

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

anen Aoto

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Jusie lee

Susie Lee Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey Member of Congress

Marcu

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

ah Km

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Vienic Fletoner

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Jennifer Wexton Member of Congress

Donald Norcross Member of Congress

Jim Himes Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

Vorma & Queo

Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

Kris Va

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

16 |

Mike Quigley Member of Congress

Deblie Wasserm S

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

Gabe Vasquez Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Morgen McGarvey Morgan McGarvey

Morga**b** McGarvey Member of Congress

Vernica Errobar

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

nmy Panetta

Member of Congress

d Case E,

Ed Case Member of Congress

illin R. Kenting

William R. Keating Member of Congress

nin June

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer / Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

ile .

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

- Honfo

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

R. Mccluce

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Mussy Hackhan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Suzan-K. DelBene Member of Congress

Emilia Strong Sykes Member of Congress

Yadira Cara eo M.D. Member of Congress

Thomas

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

ath Nan

Kathy Manning Member of Congress

Stacey E. Plaskett Member of Congress

Jared M skowitz nder of Congress Mø

tilly of schotten

Hillary J. Scholten Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Strigin & menterge

Abigail Davis Spanberger Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

May GgScarles

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Ason Crow Member of Congress

Vargo

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress

Fregory WMeetos

Gregory W. Meeks Member of Congress



Adam Smith Member of Congress

Lucy MCBath

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

-0 **C**lenn Ivey

Member of Congress

catt

David Scott Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress