Congresswoman Veronica Escobar Appointed to U.S.-Mexico Interparliamentary Group

May 21, 2019
Press Release

(Washington, D.C.) – Today, Congresswoman Veronica Escobar (TX-16) announced that Speaker Nancy Pelosi has appointed her to serve on the U.S.-Mexico Interparliamentary Group for the 116th Congress.

The U.S.-Mexico Interparliamentary Group is comprised of members of the U.S. and Mexican Congresses and tasked with fostering dialogue and maintaining positive bilateral relations between both nations.

“I want to thank Speaker Pelosi for appointing me to the U.S.-Mexico Interparliamentary Group,” said Congresswoman Escobar. “As representative of the largest bilateral city along the Texas border, I know that Mexico is not just our neighbor and partner, but also a valued friend. Our relationship is based on a shared vision of prosperity and opportunity, and I’m eager to work to strengthen this vision and ensure we find smart solutions to address our common challenges.”

“For the people of the United States and Mexico, our countries’ strong bilateral relationship has been essential to lifting up communities and expanding opportunity on both sides of the border,” said Speaker Nancy Pelosi. “As a representative of a Texas border community, Congresswoman Veronica Escobar will be a crucial voice on the U.S.-Mexico Interparliamentary Group. Her deep values and principled leadership will be vitally important in strengthening the critical partnership and friendship between our two nations now and for generations to come.”

The full list of Democratic Members of the U.S.-Mexico Interparliamentary Group is below:

•  Congressman Henry Cuellar of Texas – Chair
•  Congressman Salud Carbajal of California
•  Congressman Lou Correa of California
•  Congressman Vicente Gonzalez of Texas
•  Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee of Texas
•  Congresswoman Veronica Escobar of Texas
•  Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren of California