Skip to Content

Press Releases

Congresswoman Escobar Announces 2024 Congressional Art Competition Winners

Today, Congresswoman Veronica Escobar (TX-16) announced the winners of the 2024 Congressional Art Competition including the 1st place winner: Carolina Segoviano, a senior from Hanks High School whose piece, “Uno para Ti, Uno para Mi,” will be displayed in the U.S. Capitol for one year. The office of Congresswoman Escobar received a total of 111 submissions from over 18 high schools across El Paso.

“It was my honor to congratulate Hanks Knight Carolina Segoviano for her winning piece named ‘Uno para Ti, Uno para Mi’ and to showcase the exceptional artwork of all the inspiring student artists who participated in our district’s 2024 Congressional Art Competition,” said Congresswoman Escobar. “Carolina's submission demonstrated her incredible artistic talent and highlighted the importance of our community’s ties to Mexican culture and tradition. I also extend my deepest appreciation for the work so many have done to make this competition possible, from school administrators and encouraging teachers to the judges and supportive family members.”

This year represents the first ever collaboration between the Congresswoman’s office and the El Paso Museum of Art which will display the submitted artwork until August 4th.


2024 Congressional Art Competition Winners:

1st Place: Uno para Ti, Uno para Mi by Carolina Segoviano, 12th grade, Hanks High School 

2nd Place: My Roots by Italia Esquivel, 9th grade, Burges High School 

3rd Place: Sunsets at the Gas Station by Fernanda Navarro, 12th grade, Pebble Hills High School 


Honorable Mentions:

Best Portrait: Irma Chew, 12th grade, Burges High School  

Best Mixed Media: Charlize Santini, 11th grade, Bel Air High School 

Best Photograph: Renata Hernandez, 10th grade, Eastwood High School  

Cultura Fronteriza: Nqaining Tan Chen 12th grade, Eastwood High School  

EPMA Director’s Choice: Elizabeth Maldonado, 12th grade, Parkland High School  

TX-16’s Choice: Neylan Cacheuz, 12th grade, Bel Air High School  


2024 Congressional Art Competition Judges:

Gaspar Enriquez, Renowned visual artist   

Edward Hayes Jr., EPMA director    

Patrick Gabaldon, Local artist & attorney      

Jorge Salgado, Local photographer & videographer     

Dr. Laura Augusta, UTEP Rubin Center curator      

Citlali Delgado, Local artist & student

# # #

Stay Connected