Skip to Content

Press Releases

Congresswoman Escobar Launches the Climate Crisis Advisory Committee

Congresswoman Veronica Escobar (TX-16) announced the creation of the Climate Crisis Advisory Committee (CCAC), a formal local mechanism to provide El Paso community members and partners an opportunity to develop recommendations to address the climate crisis.

The Climate Crisis Advisory Committee’s main mission will be to serve as an avenue for Congresswoman Escobar to gather feedback from members to help advance legislation in the U.S. Congress. Additionally, the CCAC will encourage and enhance collaboration across member entities for state-local and private sector action.

The Climate Crisis Advisory Committee was formally launched today during a virtual meeting with special guest remarks delivered by House Select Committee on the Climate Crisis Chair Kathy Castor.

“It is with great enthusiasm that I launch the Climate Crisis Advisory Committee and convene a diverse group of El Pasoans from different sectors committed to responding with urgency to the existential threat of the climate crisis and protect our planet for future generations,” said Congresswoman Escobar. “Together, we will identify shared goals and collaborate to ensure the borderland has a seat at the table as my colleagues in Congress and I work to develop innovative, effective solutions to prevent and reverse the climate crisis.”

"Listening to local community leaders is one of the key ways to ensure that clean energy solutions benefit families and workers," said Chair Castor. "Congresswoman Escobar’s leadership will give El Paso a greater voice in developing solutions that will save lives, reduce energy costs, and create good-paying jobs in Texas and across America."

Members of the Climate Crisis Advisory Committee reflect a diverse set of perspectives and bring a high-level of expertise. The members of the CCAC include local and state officials, public health and research agencies, advocates, commerce, agriculture, and other experts and interest groups:

  • Citizen's Climate Lobby El Paso
  • City of El Paso
  • Earthworks
  • Eco El Paso
  • El Paso Chamber
  • El Paso County
  • El Paso Electric
  • El Paso Zoo
  • Fort Bliss
  • Office of Mayor Oscar Leeser
  • Office of State Representative Art Fierro
  • Office of State Representative Mary E. González, PhD
  • Office of State Representative Lina Ortega
  • Office of State Senator Cesar J. Blanco
  • Sierra Club
  • Sunrise El Paso
  • Texas Farm Bureau
  • Texas Gas Service
  • The University of Texas at El Paso
  • U.S. Green Chamber of Commerce
  • UT Houston School of Public Health in El Paso
  • Ysleta del Sur Pueblo

The launch of the Climate Crisis Advisory Committee follows Congresswoman Escobar’s appointment to the House Select Committee on the Climate Crisis, which is charged with delivering ambitious climate policy recommendations to Congress in order to achieve substantial and permanent reductions in pollution and other activities that contribute to the climate crisis.

Video remarks delivered by Congresswoman Escobar and Chair Castor are available to download here and member biographies are available here.

# # #

Stay Connected